makin’ whoopie

makin’ whoopie, originally uploaded by dharmabumx.

So I’m cooking my first Thanksgiving meal tomorrow. I’ve made some of the parts of Thanksgiving before but never the whole thing. It’s just going to be me, my husband and my son this year, so I figured let’s keep it simple. I can’t imagine going too over the top w/a two year old anyhow…especially one who’s rather enamored w/Mommy and doesn’t tend to leave her too much alone time during the day. So we’re going basic. Turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, tossed salad, a very small amount of creamed spinach (for me) some canned peas (for my son) and, for dessert, pumpkin whoopie pies:) I just couldn’t see whipping up a whole pie for two people. You see, I want leftovers, just not everything leftover. I mean, I’ve got an 11.75 lb. brined bird in my refridgerator. For two people. Obviously I want leftovers. But the idea of leftover pie, especially leftover pie that I’m not that fond of, just wasn’t appealing. So when I came across this recipe last week I thought to myself…this could be the answer to my pumpkin-flavored dessert needs. The recipe halved nicely and I ended up with one dozen decently sized (bigger than mini, smaller than huge) pies. The perfect sweet ending to a savory meal.

Looking forward to my first (large) bird roasting experience tomorrow:) Happy Turkey Eve.

Leave a Reply

