Welcome back to the real world…

So that was an occasionally wonderful but often depressing four months of my life that I’m not sure I learned anything from…As of Monday the 27th of June, four months after I received notice that my position was being eliminated, I am once again gainfully employed, and I couldn’t be happier. Whereas I once sat around all day with the freedom to surf the web as I pleased and do very little else, I now have jobs flying at me in every direction that are multi-faceted and require a lot more self sufficiency and ability to gather information on my own. I’m working with a team as opposed to flying solo. I’m working for a company that actually cares about its employees and has fantastic perks. I’m commuting within the same state and for a shorter distance, although I’ve yet to have a “real” week to judge time of commute, but I still sense that it will be better than before.

In short, I’ve lucked into, or earned, a real job. Thirteen years into the working world and I’ve finally got a real job. I couldn’t be happier. Now, granted, I’ve only been at this a week and the first two days of it were training/orientation, but still. Do you know how nice it is to get up in the morning and not only feel like I have a purpose again but to also actually want to go to work?

Maybe that’s what I learned from the last four unemployed months of my life. I do need a job, not only to earn the dough, but also to feel like I serve some sort of purpose. Not necessarily to give me worth, but just to feel needed.

Life is good.

 

Leave a Reply

