Wishing I could pause time…

Where does the time go? In my life, days drift by without so much as a change to my personality, my vocabulary, my height…but in yours each day brings a new word learned, a new step taken, a new object climbed.

This morning I walked into your room to find you sitting calmly in your crib, thumbing through your copy of The Very Hungry Caterpillar, checking out all of the things the caterpillar eats on its way to becoming a beautiful butterfly. I love that you have found a way to chill in the mornings before I get to your bedside to help you start the day.

Today you are 18 months old. One and a half, if you will.

You continue to amaze your father and I every day with how smart you are and how quickly you pick up new things. You understand when we ask you questions now and sometimes you have answers for us, even if it’s a resounding “no no no”, your new favorite expression. You can identify and name many of your body parts, and ours too. You enjoy reading, being read to, and pointing at all of the things you see in books and calling out their names, especially balloons. You (finally) call me mommy, and also know who daddy and the doggie are.

You frustrate me to no end with your pickiness when it comes to food, but certainly have a great appetite when the right thing is set before you. I’ve learned that without bananas, your day will start off on the wrong foot. I get that now. Bananas, don’t run out.

You love being outside and playing with nature. Picking flowers and picking up sticks. You also really like to color with chalk and I love to see your skills advance from stabbing the sidewalk with the chalk to taking long strokes and making lines and circles. I love that I get to spend so much time outside with you:)

Your imagination continues to grow daily. Some days you’ll make your father and I pretend food in whatever tupperware container you get your hands on, being sure to offer us bites of whatever you’ve concocted and enjoying some yourself. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

Most of all you show love to everyone you meet. The dog, your father, myself, the ladies at daycare who think the world of you. Always with a smile, sometimes with a high-five, a hug or a kiss. You continue to be a very sweet little boy, and I hope you always will be.

I’ve loved every minute (even the trying ones) of watching you grow up (so very fast). I can’t believe you’re 18 months old already, where has the time gone? I’d appreciate it if you could slow it down just a little bit so I can enjoy every second of it just a little longer. Thank you for making me a mom. For teaching me to enjoy the little things, the simple things, to smile more and take time to be silly.

Happy half-birthday my little man.

Love, Mommy

One thought on “Wishing I could pause time…

Leave a Reply

