stuffed, frozen and sated.

I’m beyond exhausted today for some reason and fearing that whatever illness is plaguing my other half may be beginning to creep into my conscious…the constant running of the heat in my car, house and office has me feeling really dried out and a bit scratchy inside and out. It’s a good thing its Friday.

My menu planning this week definitely paid off as neither myself or my husband would’ve had much energy to contribute to making dinner decisions. Most nights it was all he could do to stay awake long enough for me to get dinner plated.

Tuesday night’s stuffed bell peppers were fantastic and even better as leftovers for lunch yesterday when the snow and road conditions prevented me from leaving the office to grab a bite. I served them with some leftover sourdough to sop up all of the tomato-based juices and to help get the little bits that are too small to fork into my mouth.

Wednesday I was fortunate enough to have my favorite chicken and spinach enchiladas that I had prepped last weekend ready for me to pop into the oven upon my return home. I had crocked a whole chicken on Saturday night and picked close to 5 cups of meat from it on Sunday morning. While the recipe I use only calls for about a cup and a half of chicken, it’s always nice to have some bonus meat hanging around in the freezer ready for the next batch of enchiladas or a nice white chicken chili in the coming weeks.

Last night’s dinner took the cake for me, though. I had done some searching through epicurious.com as well as a few of my other usual suspects online, and came across this recipe for minestrone. With a few minor modifications (omitted the kale altogether), this heartwarming and insanely easy soup was ready in 30 minutes. Given that I’m trying to fight off this cold/illness thing that is making its way around my house, a nice chicken broth based soup was spot on. I’ve got the leftovers for lunch today and can’t wait to wrap my slightly numb fingers around a steaming mugful of soup.

I took advantage of my unexpected time at home yesterday afternoon to begin doing a little legwork on next week’s menu and came across some delicious recipes in January’s Real Simple that will be gracing both my crock pot and our table next week. Cooking when it’s cold outside is actually a lot easier to me than trying to menu plan for warmer weather. There’s nothing more satisfying than a nice hearty meal at the end of a long cold day, and it definitely looks like we’ve got a few more of those in store for us in the coming days.

TGIF and have an excellent weekend…

Chicken & Spinach Enchilada recipe below the fold…

Chicken and Spinach Enchiladas – adapted from MyRecipes.com

  • 1.5 cups shredded cooked chicken (about 1 breast or two thighs)
  • 1 package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 2 cups preshredded mexican cheese blend
  • 2 – 6oz cups plain nonfat yogurt
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 can condensed, reduced fat cream of chicken soup (you can use cream of shroom if you have it on hand)
  • 1-4.5 oz can chopped green chiles
  • 1 Tablespoon ground cumin
  • 10 -8 inch flour tortillas
  • Jar of salsa
  • Sour cream for topping

Preheat oven to 350

Combine first 9 ingredients in a large bowl – reserving 1 cup of the cheese, stirring to mix well.

Fill tortillas with mixture (roughly 1/3-1/2 cup per tortilla), roll up and place seam side down into baking dish. If you’re making all of them, use a 13 x 9 dish. If you’re making half and freezing half use an 8×8 or 9×9 dish.

Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Remove foil and top with reserved 1 cup of cheese and 1 cup of your favorite jarred salsa. Bake, uncovered for an additional 5 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly. Top with a dollop of sour cream and enjoy!

The enchiladas, unbaked and untopped, freeze very nicely in a ziploc bag for a few months. Thaw in the fridge before baking.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “stuffed, frozen and sated.

  1. The stuffed peppers sounded “just OK” until you paired them with some sourdough. That created a sudden mental burst of flavour that has me really contemplating my own stuffed pepper effort.

    • It was definitely a 70’s recipe, flavor-wise, and one that would benefit from some tweaking in the seasoning department…the hunk of bread went a long way toward improving the taste of the meal:) I see now why I should include bread more regularly as part of what I’m eating 🙂 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

