Old Dog, New Tricks

The way I do my job has changed in the past week or so and while I welcome some of the changes, the method in which I now have to complete tasks requires some mental rewiring on my part. I had a lot of this on autopilot for so long and was incredibly efficient with keystrokes and shortcuts and navigating start to finish. Now I have to relearn how to do the simplest thing, and the simplest thing takes three times as long as it did before. Don’t get me wrong, I’m thankful for my job. Thankful to be employed and thankful for the flexibility that my employer offers me. Thankful for the autonomy I’ve got and the more or less pleasant environment I work in daily. I’m just not used to inefficiency. I have no doubt that I’ll pick up the pace as I learn new steps and figure out new shortcuts, there’s just a learning curve I wasn’t anticipating in the crunch of the end of an issue and hours I wasn’t expecting to put in.

This may be a sign that I need to go elsewhere. I keep saying that but it may finally be true. If I can relearn this, then I can certainly learn something elsewhere. I just need to figure out what I want to be when I grow up and see if anyone out there wants me:).

One thought on “Old Dog, New Tricks

  1. Granted I’m not as established professionally as you are, but moving was the best thing I ever did. Could I have stayed at my previous employer and been alright? Absolutely — but it was totally worth it to leave.

Leave a Reply

