What a difference a year makes…

One year ago today I was staring down the barrel of a thing called motherhood…looking at it as some sort of foreign exchange experience…I’d enter into this country where I didn’t speak the language and immerse myself in a culture that would quickly bring me up to speed…only to find out it was more like being thrown into a pool without knowing how to swim than learning a new language. A total shock to the system.

I find now, with 11 months of experience under my belt that my perception wasn’t that far from the reality of it all…and I’ve loved every minute of it…or nearly every minute…or maybe loved is too strong of a word there, let’s go with enjoyed/tolerated/cherished, depending on the day/situation/amount of bodily fluid involved:).

In 10 days I will be able to congratulate myself on keeping a human being alive for one year. A large chunk of that year solely nourished by yours truly. That, to me, is quite an accomplishment considering I’ve never been a mother before.

Hard to believe that this time a year ago, I didn’t know who I’d be welcoming into my life, boy or girl, angel or devil. I’ve been pleasantly surprised up until this point with how it’s all worked out and can’t wait to see what the next trip around the sun brings.

 

–––––

I’m participating in NaBloPoMo again this year, once again attempting to blog for 30 days straight, including those pesky weekends when time really gets away from you. I managed to do it last year while in the throes of new motherhood…I figure this year should be a cakewalk, right?

Here’s to 30 days of rediscovering what’s between my ears.

 

Leave a Reply

