I put my new shoes on…

Last night on my way home I swung by Pacers in Old Town and treated myself and my feet to a much needed new pair of running shoes. It’s amazing what a huge difference they make. Running provides me with unfettered time to clear my head, to figure things out, to make decisions and mental notes…I clear out the cobwebs and the clutter while my feet and legs carry me from start to finish. My favorite part of any run is when my body just takes over on auto pilot and I honestly forget that I’m running at all. I’m not so out of it that I stop paying attention to traffic or geese flying overhead, just in the zone enough to let all that is bothering me slip away.

This morning I was particularly exhausted on my commute up to the gym and my office. I wasn’t entirely sure how much I was going to be able to give to my workout because keeping my eyes open seemed to be enough exercise for me…but once I popped on my iPod and laced up my new kicks, I bounded down the stairs and out the door of the gym to hit the streets for a quick 2.25 mile run. 22 minutes later, I was back inside, flushed but happy.

I’ve got a lot to sort out lately. At 33 I’m trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. This is what happens when, after nearly 12 years with the same company, things kind of start to get a little shaky/unstable. Of course, having things shaken up a little might be exactly what I need to get me off this career plateau and move me into something else that I really love…it’s all a matter of figuring out what it is I really love.

Things were a lot simpler when I was younger and had my whole life ahead of me. Now I have responsibilities, a husband, a house, a dog, a child… all factors that ultimately play into what my next move is. I know I’m very fortunate to have the undying support of my husband in all of this to the extent that if I felt it necessary to quit my job while I looked full time for something else he’s ok with that…not that I could actually see doing this, but it’s good to know that I have options, options a lot of people don’t have. Now it’s really just a matter of taking a few days to do some soul searching, career-wise, and putting everything I’ve got into figuring out what direction I want to go in next.

I see a lot of running in my future to help put it all in perspective.

One thought on “I put my new shoes on…

  1. It’s always such a happy surprise when you blog! And I love the new look. 🙂

    Obviously as I’m younger, I have about zero in the way of wise words. The only thing I can say is that while I’m a few Major Life Events behind you, I can relate to a lot of what you’re saying. I’d like to think that even though we may not know exactly where we’re headed, we’re still one of the lucky ones because we dare to question instead of just trying to maintain the status quo.

    I’m excited to see where your adventure takes you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

