Stereotypical NYE post

I’ve been unplugged for a while and it’s been rather nice. I’ve come to realize that there’s no need to be online all day, every day and that sometimes not checking e-mail for a few days isn’t so bad. The junk mail piles up, much like with real mail, but the people who actually have something to say to you will find a way to get their message through. And so, I sit here on December 31st, 2009 with time to spare, time to reflect back on not only the last year, but also the last decade in my now seemingly normal life.

If you had told me on New Year’s Eve 1999 that I’d be sitting where I am now, I would’ve said you were crazy. In 1999 I was dating a guy I worked with and eventually had a hard time getting over. I was 23 years old, living in Atlanta and had been out of college for a year and a half and employed by the same company for a little over a year. Much like everyone else at the time I was unsure of what 2000 would bring…power outage? mass confusion? total electronic failure? Fortunately for me and everyone else sitting in Fado’s in Buckhead that night, nothing happened except the changing of the year and the month on the calendar.

In the last 10 years I have changed my address 7 times, changed my position within my company 4 times and changed my last name once. I have moved from Georgia to Virginia. I have become a wife, homeowner, a petowner, and a mother. I went from having no debt to being pretty heavily in debt and then back out again. I spent a few years wasting time and messing around more than I should’ve in many aspects of my life but eventually moved home, settled down, found love and changed my path in life.

10 years seems like a long time and yet this particular decade of my life has just flown by. It has marked a period of tremendous change and settling, a decade when I finally grew up without having to give up a childlike sense of wonder.

2009 has been a whirlwind of a year itself. In a span of 2 months I went from living the life I’d been living to living a life for myself and the growing baby inside me. Having been pregnant for most of the year caused me to learn how to slow down, how to take care of myself and now my son. Life goes by so fast, I’ve learned to stop and smell the roses, even if it’s just for a few minutes at a time. I can’t believe I’m a mother and I can’t wait to discover all that 2010 has to show me:)

Happy New Year

2 thoughts on “Stereotypical NYE post

Leave a Reply

