what a difference a month makes

 

Ten little toes, originally uploaded by dharmabumx.

Ten little fingers and ten little toes…you weren’t here a month ago.

November 30th…today marks the last day of NaBloPoMo (if you don’t know what it is, look it up). I have managed, for the second time, to successfully post daily for the entire month of November, due in large part to an increase in subject matter in the form of my newborn son. I’m sure the amount of time I’ve been spending at home has a little something to do with it as well. What I’ve discovered in the last 30 days is that I need this outlet more now than ever. I need somewhere to have a voice of my own, to be able to write about the mostly mundane things that are going on in my day. To be able to record the tiny precious moments that are happening in the life of my young son and about how they’re affecting me. I see now why the whole “mommy blog” thing exists. So many mothers just need somewhere to vent, to bitch, to praise, to shout, to get it all out. Otherwise I’m leaving all of what’s going on in my head all day only to have it explode on my husband when he returns from work…something tells me that’s just not a good idea.

Now that I’m a mother, I do think it’s important to use this blog as an outlet for my voice. I’m not writing for anyone other than myself, honestly. I don’t write here for purposes of getting off the chart traffic or comments, I just write to get it out of my head. If what I write makes sense or strikes a chord in someone who happens to come along and read it, good. If not, that’s fine too.

Still pretty impressed that I wrote daily for the entire month of November, though. It is an accomplishment to set yourself a goal of writing daily, even if what you write is of no consequence to anyone except yourself. Job well done, self. Job well done.

2 thoughts on “what a difference a month makes

    • Happy to please…by the way just read through some of your older entries and see that you’re making the move to the Commonwealth come March:) congrats.

Leave a Reply

