Fixin’ to go

My parents hit the road tomorrow morning. They’ve been here since the first of the month. My mother has been over here nearly every weekday that Chris hasn’t been working, cooking, cleaning, holding the baby…my dad has come by and fixed things that needed fixing and helping me find little things we can do around the house to make life easier. So, as of Monday, I’m on my own. Mothering without my mother. Alone with my son for 10 hours a day until my husband gets home. Alva’s a good boy and he sleeps a good chunk of the day, so I think I’ll be fine. I’ll have to be. I’ve got a few things planned for me and my son, a trip to see Santa, a trip into both my and my husband’s office. Little things to keep me sane and keep life interesting. I can do nearly all of my Christmas shopping online, so there’s that. I can plan meals ahead for January when I return to work. I can continue to organize and figure out ways to make life simpler, easier, less hectic so that when January 12 rolls around and I return to the fray, to the hustle and bustle of the adult world, I’m prepared. I can enjoy the time with my son, watching him discover his thumb, watching him develop his neck muscles as he learns to hold his head upright. I need to drink in every last moment of this time while at the same time utilizing all of the tips and tricks my parents bestowed upon me in the last month.

It’s bittersweet, really. I’m ready for them to be gone, but at the same time, I’ve really enjoyed all of the help they’ve given me. I’m very, very grateful for the fact that they were able to take this time to be around, I’m not sure what we would’ve done without their help.

 

Leave a Reply

