thankful

 

thankful, originally uploaded by dharmabumx.

Typically Thanksgiving involves folks listing things they’re thankful for. Things like family and friends. Health and happiness. Their job. The roof over their head. Thanksgiving is a holiday that enables us to give pause, to reflect on that we really have in our lives, to stuff ourselves with turkey and stuffing in the presence of relatives and ingest more calories than we probably should. This year for the first time in 3 years my husband and I will be celebrating Thanksgiving here in Northern Virginia rather than making the trek down to Raleigh to partake in the zany and large family feast that his family puts on yearly. This is due to our recent addition. I figured 2 weeks was a little soon to be throwing Alva into the car for a road trip. He’ll get to experience that soon enough at 6 weeks. No, this year we’re celebrating with my parents, who have been here helping out all month…enjoying a traditional meal of turkey and gravy, stuffing, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, pumpkin pie and, of course, the traditional Thanksgiving deviled eggs, which I’m sure the Raleigh crowd will be missing in a few hours. It’s going to be a lot more low key than I’ve experienced in years past and have a lot less drinking going on, mostly because I’m breastfeeding and can only pump but so much today.

This year I’ve got more than ever to be thankful for. Thankful for my family’s help this month. Thankful for the continued gainful employment of both myself and my husband in these crazy economic times. Thankful for the love and patience of my dog as he adjusts to a new family member. Thankful for my health and the health of those around me. Most of all, I’m thankful for my little boy and for motherhood, two things I don’t think I ever saw in my life prior to a year ago.

May everyone have a safe and happy turkey day.

One thought on “thankful

Leave a Reply

