little moments

Inquisitive face, originally uploaded by dharmabumx.

Ok. I get it. Motherhood is exhausting and trying and about problem solving and unconditional love. I get that I will for the rest of my life put your needs before my own. I get that I may get upset and frustrated with how I can’t figure out exactly what it is you may need at any given point in time, especially now when you aren’t talking. Someday you’ll be able to tell me what you want, but right now all I can do is hear your cries, or as was the case last night, wails, and offer my comfort, my breast, a clean diaper, kisses and a warming hug. When you look at me with those eyes that have not yet learned to focus, it’s all worth it. In those little moments I know, this is real, this is not a dream.
You are beautiful. You are loving. You are my son.
I get it.

Happy Sunday.

One thought on “little moments

Leave a Reply

