The end of Fridays…

Let me sit here, one last time, alone.

Alone at my computer with my cup of coffee and my peace and quiet, doing what I want to do, one last time.

With no one else around to influence what needs doing or where I need to be.

Let me sit here and remember this moment, this feeling, one last time.

It will be a long, long time before I feel this way again…I wonder if I’ll ever remember what it feels like.

I’ve spent 33 years of my life being just me. I’ve spent the last 5 years of my life as a wife. I’ll spend the rest of my life as a mother.

It will never be the same again. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, just something that needs reflecting on, is all.

And so I’ll sit here, this morning, savoring that cup of coffee, my morning paper, the calming solitude of not having to be anything to anyone but myself for a few hours…it’s kind of sobering, really, like a wall you are walking into unknowingly…this is the end of Fridays as I knew them, and the beginning of something completely different, alien, exciting, challenging…I’m probably more ready for all of this than I realize.

2 thoughts on “The end of Fridays…

  1. I saw a mom on the bus this morning with her little baby strapped to the front of her and I had a moment where I was like…whoa…in a week, that will be my sister! Hope you’re enjoying your final “just Beth” friday 🙂

Leave a Reply

