All play and no work…

Today is the first day of the next 10 weeks or so of my life. I’m officially on “maternity leave” as of today…no work, no stress, no responsibilities…well, at least as relate to my previous incarnation as a career woman. It’s an odd feeling, sitting here at 7:30 in the morning knowing that I’d normally be either in my car en route to the office or, more than likely, already sitting at my desk, pecking away at the keyboard, checking e-mail and assessing what needs to be taken care of. Of course, I’m kind of still doing all of those things, just not with the same goal in mind.

Today marks 39 weeks of pregnancy. One week until my due date and 9 days until my scheduled induction. The waiting game really begins today when I don’t have the distraction of work or a commute or deadlines to prevent me from just taking it easy, sitting around and waiting. Waiting for this child to be born. I know he/she’s in there, they alerted me with a swift kick to the ribs at about 5:45 this morning. A tiny alarm clock inside my body that will change my life and my priorities forever.

On tap for today is a short list of last-minute nursery adjustments. Installing a hanging lamp and a wall-mounted caddy (which will most likely be done by my father, not me)…perhaps a quick trip to Target to grab a few more items for the overnight bag already packed for the hospital…some prenatal yoga later this afternoon…and, yes, some rest. I don’t have the energy to go all day like I did just a few short weeks ago. It’s endlessly frustrating and the thing I’m most looking forward to…having my body back. Not in the physical, “look at my killer abs” sense, but more in the “I can bend down and tie my shoes” sense.

I’ve never really been one to sit on the sidelines and take it easy and this week will pretty much put that to the test.

 

 

2 thoughts on “All play and no work…

  1. Can’t wait to see pics of the little person…do you have names ready to go or are you a “wait-to-meet-the-baby” family? 🙂 Good luck Beth, and if you have a boy, let me know – I’ve got ALOT of clothes that could use a tiny, warm body. 😀

    • We’ve got names picked out…so when Wee Dudley pops out we can instantly start talking to him/her as though they’ve always been there (which from my perspective, the baby’s been around for a few months, just kicking around inside).

Leave a Reply

