Fall back

My body doesn’t particularly care for this clock adjusting we feel the need to do…heck, my body doesn’t particularly care for the clock in general these days, a fact that I know won’t be changing any time soon.

How did November 1st come along so quickly.

How did I get to the point where in 10 days, if my body and this child haven’t made up their mind to work together, medical assistance will be used and the newest member of our family will be an oxygen breathing entity rather than a squirmy lump in my stomach.

I’m definitely beyond the point of pregnancy being real but really unsure if I’m accepting of the fact that I’m about to become a parent to something a lot more self-aware than my dog.

Last night I did have dreams about this baby for the first time. Dreams about holding it, dreams about having it…but nothing beyond that. It’s still a genderless, nameless bundle of joy for the time being. I’m beginning to read more about the after part of having a baby than about being pregnant in preparation (can we ever REALLY be prepared for this?) for what comes next. The bags are packed, have been for weeks. The nursery is as ready as it’s going to be. I suppose I’m beginning to take on my husband’s sentiment of “let’s get this show on the road” but at the same time trying to savor these last moments of my life as it was instead of how it will be.

It’s a strange state of limbo…thought I’d give writing about it another shot.

I’m attempting, once again, to participate in NaBloPoMo this year. The only thing I see preventing me from writing everyday will be the actual birth of my child as I am currently on maternity leave through 2010…We’ll see how this all goes.

2 thoughts on “Fall back

  1. I found your blog through NaBloPoMo (did I get that right?) and just wanted to say congratulations. I remember the feelings you’re describing well. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

