in charge of the menu

Food, both eating it and cooking it, has long been a passion of mine. Heck, talking about it and reading about it are favorite pasttimes of mine as well…but here lately, someone else has been in charge of the menu. The whole experience has been oddly unsettling a well as somewhat liberating. For the past few years I’ve very carefully watched what I ate, didn’t snack too much, didn’t indulge too much (at least food-wise). I enjoyed a balanced and varied diet…like I said, I love all things food… Suddenly, things just aren’t as appealing. I’ve been extremely blessed not to have suffered any morning sickness through the first three months of my pregnancy, not that I didn’t have occasional nausea, I just never lost my cookies. But in general, things that I love to eat, namely salads and anything remotely healthy, just don’t fit the bill. There was about a 3 week period where nothing but fast food and mexican food would satisfy me. Astonishingly, I’m still wearing my normal clothes…things are beginning to get a little snug, but I was hoping eventually I’d start to look pregnant. I suppose going to the gym 5 days a week, keeping up with that healthy aspect of my life may have a little to do with the fact that my pants still fit…I’m sure I’ll rue actually  mentioning that I haven’t had to squeeze into preggo clothes at 14 weeks, 5 days.

One thought on “in charge of the menu

  1. Haha, this was such a great entry! And seriously, you are one healthy mama from what I’ve seen of your lifestyle. Granted, my view is very limited, but still.

    Hopefully it is still smooth sailing from here on out!

Leave a Reply

