how does that one go again?

With great power comes great responsibility, I believe that’s how it goes.

The responsibility to know what to say and when to say it and when to keep your trap shut. The power to know more than you ever wanted to know, ever cared to know. 

I find myself wanting to know less as of late. 

I went to an AIGA event downtown last night. It was a panel discussion about finding your muse…about creativity and how to harness it. Four creative professionals sat in front of a room of roughly 100 designers and filled us in on the secrets of their success, on how they get things done. The one recurring theme I heard from each of these designers was in order to break out of a creative block, you need to walk away. To get up and leave for a little while. To take a breather. Distract yourself by staring at something other than a computer screen, other than the task at hand and perhaps the solution to your creative problem will come to you. I feel like I’ve been in a bit of a creative rut myself, but then again, I suppose that’s what happens when you move up the food chain, have more responsibility and less time in which to do things…the phone rings, the e-mails come in, questions need answering, immediacy is the name of the game. I no longer feel I have the luxury of allowing myself to be creative, and that’s kind of sad to me. I’m not sure if I need to take the time to start creating for work, outside of work or if I need to shut my door, draw the blinds, and retreat every once in a while. It’s not easy being everything that everybody needs. 

It’s strange when you get to this point in your career and you think, ah, I had it so easy back then.

One thought on “how does that one go again?

Leave a Reply

