Habits, or the letter H

the magnetic pull…, originally uploaded by dharmabumx.

Something I realized in my travels this weekend is that some habits are hard to break…now I didn’t go all crazy and start smoking again, because that habit is definitely a piece of my past…but every time I return to Atlanta I realize that some things, about me, never change. Not to say that they won’t every change…but for now, as much as I suppress certain aspects of my personality, I’m still the same person I was 6 years ago.

Every time I travel to the ATL I end up getting a little out of hand. i’m sure part of this is due to the fact that I don’t end up driving as much there as I do up here in NoVA…which then, in turn, allows me to, ahem, enjoy myself a little more than I would were I the one behind the wheel. Part of this may also be due to the fact that when I travel south I inevitably run into folks from my past who encourage this behavior by way of purchasing shots and beers for me. Never one to turn down a free beverage from a friend, or an acquaintance…this often leads me to spend some portion of my trip hungover. In this case, it was my return trip…flying while a bit out of shape, NOT fun.

Upon returning to the DC area I vowed to return to more healthy habits that I have picked up in years since my move north. If I’m to successfully and happily complete my 9th race of the year in 4 1/2 weeks, the gym must be my best friend 5 mornings out of 7 (at least)…and if I’m to enter 2009 weighing less than I did at the start of 2008…meaning NOT putting on the fall weight that typically occurs this time of year, then eating lunch and dinner in and planning my meals more carefully must become my habits once more.

I’m definitely a creature of habit. It’s why smoking once appealed so much to me. It’s part of why working for a monthly publication appeals so much to me. The same things, over and over, in a pattern…comfort, familiarity, easy to slip back into.

I suppose it goes to remind me, to illustrate very clearly to my 32 year old mind that the more things change, the more they stay the same. It’s not a bad thing when you can be around your habits with the wisdom of a few years experiences under your cap…helps prevent old bad habits from becoming new bad habits. Isn’t this what we call getting older?

One thought on “Habits, or the letter H

  1. I’ve been doing my best to alternate alcoholic beverages with glasses of water to slow me down. Side benefit: keeps me hydrated.

    Nothing wrong with drinking, especially when you know you don’t have to drive, but you can reduce the likely side effects by making sure there’s also food in your stomach (I know you’re safe there), and taking some Vitamin B12 and E before your binge or before going to bed.

Leave a Reply

