the morning after, the letter B

I thought long and hard about the letter B, and while I realize I could be more creative with this one, the lack of sleep over the past two nights has my brain firing on far too few cylinders…not that I’m not jubilant and excited and amazed at the history that was made yesterday. Far from it. I’ve been walking around all day wanting to high-five everyone I see…cashiers, the guy on the elliptical next to me this morning at the gym, folks walking in my office park…everything just feels different than it did at this time yesterday. I only wish I had the energy to feel a little more in the moment, you know? I guess I used up all that energy staying up to watch all of the returns, to watch the first concession speech on election day since 1996, to feel that my vote did count, here, in the commonwealth of Virginia. Suffice to say, I’m a little burnt out this afternoon. Lacking, if you will, in thoughts. In witty repartee. 

Wow. I just sat here and stared at my hands for 4 minutes. How the heck am I ever going to be capable of dealing with the hours of a new parent when that part of my life eventually decides to happen. Geez.

Anyhow, the letter B.

B is for Beth.

why, you may ask? because that’s my name.   

Yes, original. I know. I was really striving for a more creative approach to this biographical alphabet, but I’m failing miserably in my first two days of it. I’m hoping that once I get a few hours of sleep and recover I’ll be more up to the task of spinning tales of the letters C and D from Houston and the letters E and F from Atlanta…

One thought on “the morning after, the letter B

Leave a Reply

