my how time flies…

In a week of oddly mismatched anniversaries, I find myself wondering how it is that it got to be 2008.

I awoke this morning with the knowledge that today is the 7th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks. I remember how very different my life was 7 years ago. I lived in Atlanta. I was single. I was incredibly out of touch with what I needed to be doing in my life. I worked for a publication. I lived alone. I was disconnected from my family who lived in DC. I was financially irresponsible and unstable.

7 years later, I’m married and have been for 4 years. I live in the DC area. I own a house, with a dog and a fence. I work for a publication (same company). I’m no longer disconnected from my family in spite of the fact that we all live in different cities. I’m financially stable. How all of this managed to occur in 7 years, actually more like the last 5, is beyond me. 

I think David Byrne says it best:

And you may find yourself living in a shotgun shack

And you may find yourself in another part of the world

And you may find yourself behind the wheel of a large automobile

And you may find yourself in a beautiful house, with a beautiful Wife (husband in this case)

And you may ask yourself-well…how did I get here? 

 

The whole process of growing up, the whole journey into adulthood, goes by rather quickly. One day, you wake up to watch a plane fly into the side of a skyscraper-7 years later, you wake up next to your husband and your dog in your secure little world. 

 

Monday, September 15th marks 10 years to the day when I started with this company. If you’d told me 10 years ago, at age 22, that I would be employed by the same company for 10 years, I would’ve questioned your sanity. I don’t think I ever saw this as a long-term gig. I saw it as a way to get the requisite 2 years experience and then move on. It definitely wasn’t a glamorous graphic design job that I started that sunny September morning. Now, I sit in a large office, with an assistant and a lot more responsibility than I had 10 years ago. Tonight, my boss and her boss fly into town from Atlanta to take me out to dinner to celebrate my tenure. It’s something I’m immensely proud of, this time I’ve spent and reputation I’ve built for myself within this organization. Throughout all of my adult, post-college life’s ups and downs, the one constant has been my job. It’s been a rock of sorts. Sometimes it’s driven me crazy, other times it’s been a blast. It’s a job, and it has provided me with the opportunity to have a life. At least after 10 years:).

Same as it ever was…same as it ever was.

3 thoughts on “my how time flies…

  1. How awesome that your boss and her boss appreciate you and your work enough to fly up to celebrate that you’ve stuck with them. 🙂 Congrats on ten years… and (roughly) four.

Leave a Reply

