One of the reasons August is the best month of the year…

Four years ago today, I woke up and said I Do in the shadow of our 3rd president. Four years ago I decided that a lifetime seemed like a good amount of time to spend with one person, for better, for worse…for football season, baseball season…for allergies and bad knees…for habits kicked and houses bought.

 

Some days it seems as though more than four years have passed, other days it seems like yesterday…and this morning, just as four years ago, we had our moment on the tidal basin. Each year we go and have breakfast with Tom, getting up fairly early in the past few years as our anniversary has fallen on a weekday. Sitting on the steps of the Jefferson, the still of the tidal basin, the sun just coming up…crazy squirrels darting here and there, makes for a great way to start your day.

I’m very lucky to be married to such a wonderful man, one who enjoys our annual tradition, one who, in spite of not being a morning person in the slightest, will listen to me ramble on, occasionally grunting one-syllable answers at me. Happy Anniversary, my love.

2 thoughts on “One of the reasons August is the best month of the year…

  1. Beth…. You are a very talented writer. Every blog I read of yours is very emotional, vivid, and full of “life.” I enjoy reading them. Your very insightful also.

    Happy Anniversary also…. Rachele and I’s is Aug 16th. This will be our 6th.

  2. happy anniversary to you and Chris 🙂 I can hardly believe 4 years have passed already.

    I hope you have a wonderful vacation!

Leave a Reply

