little miss perfect takes a step aside.

Today I realized that in spite of my best efforts, I’m not perfect. I’m not infallible. I’m totally capable of making mistakes. I’m also totally capable of beating myself up about said mistakes because I hold myself to a higher standard. This is all totally work related, however…so in the grand scheme of things the mistakes I make in my place of employment don’t carry beyond these walls, across the American Legion bridge and home to my husband and my dog. So that’s a relief.

I pride myself in putting forth every effort to correct my mistakes before announcing them to the world, however…and in this case, my minor lapse of perfection was something that could be rectified maybe not easily, but rather quickly. This prevented me from having to go to my boss and my publisher and explain why one of our clients would probably be pretty darn unhappy come September. 

I feel like there are a lot of people in this world who just complain about things and don’t ever offer up a solution to what’s ailing them. 

thirsty? get a drink of water. cold? put on another layer. hot? turn on a fan.

upset by the government and policies? write your congressman, register to vote, take action.

Most folks just aren’t willing to put in the effort to seek a solution, toss around ideas, be proactive. There, that’s the word I’ve been looking for all afternoon. Proactive. Not solely reactive. More people need to go that direction in life. 

It’s hard when you are held in high regard and then you falter not to see yourself as a failure, at least temporarily. What I did today took me down a peg, at least in my own mind…humility isn’t a bad thing I suppose. What I did realize in all of this is that I’ve been working really hard lately, perhaps a little too hard. When I ran too hard a week or so ago, my body let me know that it wasn’t going to put up with it. And so I took a week and a half off from running. Methinks that this is my brain’s way of saying, “Thank god you’re on vacation for 10 days starting Friday morning…I’m not sure how much more of this I could put up with.”.

I’ve given all I have to give, now I just have to give for one more day…and then sand and sea and shrimp and sleep…perhaps something frosty with an umbrella in it…and not a schedule or a to do list in sight.

Leave a Reply

