like looking in a mirror…

Yesterday morning I woke up and it felt like the first day of school. Something different was in the air and it felt less like a typical hectic Monday an more like a day of celebration. 

Yesterday my assistant started.

Yesterday I no longer officed by myself, instead hearing another living breathing creative human being just 25 feet away from me. 

It’s the end of an era and the beginning of something really exciting. As I phrased it last night, it’s like I have a new toy and I don’t know what to do with it yet but I can’t wait to go into work tomorrow and play with it.

I’ve been in an office alone for 8 of my nearly 10 years with this company. Tomorrow I will finally have the opportunity to begin her training in earnest, as yesterday and today bring rather insane demands on my time. I’m utilizing her where I can, indoctrinating her in the ways of this business, my business, my little world. . .opening it up a little bit to let someone else share and help in what I have to do on a daily basis. It’s definitely interesting, it’ll definitely be an ongoing adjustment, but so far I’m really happy to have the opportunity to make an impact on someone’s career path. It’s fascinating, it’s educational and it’s like looking in a mirror. I was there myself 10 years ago. I need to make sure I remember that.

The tasks at hand call me away, but I wanted to make sure I adequately chronicled the events of the last 24 hours and how they made me feel…inspired, charmed and fortunate.

Leave a Reply

