luck has nothing to do with it…

Last night my husband said something to me that’s really stuck in my head…no, he didn’t finally tell me that I’m hot (dangit!). He said to me, in the most sincere of voices, “I’m so lucky to have you in my life”. I’d say that trumps any sort of shallow commentary on my physical being, wouldn’t you?

As I think back at the path we both took to get to the point where we are now. . .nearly four years of marriage, house, dog, successful careers, I’d like to think that luck has nothing to do with the fact that I ended up with this man or that he ended up with me. Actually, I like to think our paths just happened to cross at the right time and place in both of our lives. Long, nearly endless strands, crossing and uncrossing at various points with other strands. . .and then, at one point, they intersect. If all of the conditions are agreeable, then the strands stay together, intertwine, and become a stronger strand. This is really how I visualize all of my relationships in my head. . .colorful strands, weaving in and out. 

In any event, it was one of the sweetest things he’s ever said to me, aside from saying I do on that beautiful August day a few years back. I’m very fortunate to have him in my life as well, lord knows I’m not the easiest person to deal with at times…we all have our down days. It’s gratifying at the end of the day, regardless of how craptastic it may have been, to know that at the end of my often hellish commute awaits a man, in a house, who feels that way about me. About us. About love.

 

Leave a Reply

