tale of the tape…

The first time I did WW, I really struggled with reaching the weight I wanted to get to. . .and it wasn’t an unrealistic weight at all. . .in fact, it was at the top of the range for my age and height for a healthy BMI. But still, I struggled with the numbers. I need to remind myself not to get all caught up in numbers again. Honestly, I hadn’t realized that I’d let myself get this far (again). . .the telltale sign was when I tried to put on my favorite khakis at one point last month. I love these pants. I’ve never been able to find another pair like them. . .and, as a result, I use these pants as a benchmark of sorts. When they start getting a little uncomfortable, it’s time to reign it in a little. . .Looking at how your clothes fit, as opposed to looking at the numbers on a scale, is an excellent and realistic way to gauge weight gain/loss. I hope to be back in those khakis sooner rather than later. Knowing the success I’ve had with this in the past, I’m sure I’ll be fine.
This time around, I’m not attending meetings, tracking everything completely on my own using their etools and my digital scale (which has always matched what theirs was reading). Once you’ve gone through the “weight loss journey”, the stuff they throw out during meetings doesn’t quite have the same ring to it. It all sounds rather canned. Plus the people who are in there for the first time don’t really understand why you’re in there. . .I get looks of “why do you need to lose weight”. Perhaps it’s just the leader at my closest WW. Who knows. Anyhow, holding myself accountable for what I eat (honestly) and tracking/measuring things works. It’s a pain in the butt, but it works. Know what you can have unlimited amounts of, know what you should eat less of (never what you shouldn’t eat at all). . .and you’ll see results.
I know I won’t be stepping on the scale again until next monday. Can’t hop on every day. Makes me batty. It’s really just numbers. I’m already finding that getting back to the gym on a regular basis (starting in December) and drinking more water is making me feel less sluggish, less lumpy and happier.
–––––––––––––––––––––
moosebraying and I had a really tasty dinner last night. Eating delicious food really makes me happy. Eating delicious food slowly allows me to enjoy it. . .something I need to get better at.
Curry-spiced pork tenderloin with mango-ginger chutney.
Take 1 pork tenderloin, rub with olive oil and sprinkle generously with Penzey’s Singapore Seasoning. Massage seasoning into loin. You may actually do this and freeze it (which is what I have done).
Preheat oven to 400.
Place loin on a baking sheet (I use a rack on a baking sheet)
Cook for 40 minutes or until temp. reaches 160 (I love my digital thermometer:)).
Remove from oven and let rest to let juices redistribute.
Thinly slice and plate. Serve w/2 Tbsp Trader Joes Mango Ginger Chutney (YUM) and 1/2 cup brown rice.
I served this with some green beans (frozen/steam in bag style. . .) It was really tasty and healthy. I suppose I should get in the habit of photographing my meals again. Sometimes they look really pretty.
–––––––––––––––––––––
In today’s Mr. Bento. . .
Small side bowl
1 cup blackberries (to be eaten with the yogurt I brought as a mid morning snack)
1 mini babybel light cheese. The joy of unwrapping a wax covered cheese and playing with the wax afterwords takes me back to childhood:)
Large Side Bowl
1/2 cup tuna rice salad and some celery (for mid afternoon snack)
“rice” bowl
I typically use this for my salad b/c it’s the largest container and I like a large salad.
soup bowl
Campbell’s Select butternut squash soup
Tucked into the side pockets, 3 mini garlic bagel crisps (for the soup), some additonal celery, a crystal light packet (I like to mix it with my seltzer at lunch).
Also along for the ride: Dannon Activia strawberry yogurt, a banana.

time to get to work. or maybe to go get another cup of coffee.
later days,
me

5 thoughts on “tale of the tape…

  1. I know exactly where you’re coming from – I could write an almost identical post about my current situation.

    I’m back to lifting weights, trying to focus on cooking healthy meals at home, drinking more water, etc etc, but my driving factor this time around is more vanity than anything. I want to look and feel great in my wedding dress.

  2. vanity. . .

    That’s definitely a good motivation. I didn’t go that route b/c I was stressed out enough over details, but in hindsight I kind of wish I had. . .

  3. Yeah, I totally know where you’re coming from. Unlike you, though, I haven’t fully engaged myself back into the gym routine. But I’m getting there.

    Lots of luck getting those khakis to fit better! 🙂

  4. Re: vanity. . .

    I do have a more definite goal: 1 pound a week until my birthday, May 31. This shifts the burden of the weight loss several months ahead of the actual wedding in October.

    I can’t decide if I want to go with an established plan such as WW or eDiets. I had success with eDiets in the past, but at the moment I’m not sure I can deal with too strict of a structured meal plan. I’ll have to investigate WW, though, as my peripheral take is that it’s very flexible with the point system.

  5. thanks. . .
    I think with the fact that the gym is in my office building and I’m going at a time of day where I’m not fully conscious really helps me. If I were to have to work out after work, it just wouldn’t, well, work.:).

Leave a Reply

