literate fool

back in 2006, I tried to read 50 books.
Failing miserably, I got through 13 1/2 (I couldn’t even begin to finish The Tipping Point).
I think part of my issue was reading books that I thought I should be interested in rather than reading books I’d actually enjoy. Reading, for me anyhow, should be a pleasant activity, not something that feels like an assignment. This would be part of the issue I had being in a book club years ago. I didn’t want to feel forced to read a book in an allotted amount of time. I enjoyed the social aspect of the book club and miss that quite a bit. Part of me would love to find that outlet once again.
I received a number of books off my Amazon wish list for Christmas this year. I’m trying to be good about not buying books. Instead I’d like to use the library and the fantastic interlibrary loan service that they offer. You can go online, reserve a book, and they’ll just send it to your local branch, e-mailing you when it’s there. I’m not quite sure why I haven’t taken advantage of this service in the past. . .but it’s rather pleasant. Not that browsing the library, hoping to find something you want isn’t pleasant. . .it just doesn’t quite have the same feel to it that browsing a bookstore does. Benefit to the library is the cost. Free.
So, anyhow. I just finished my first book of 2008. It was complete and total fluff, but something nice to ease my way back into reading. Sometimes losing yourself in something so absurdly useless and somewhat trashy can be rather satisfying.
I’m in no way trying to read 50 books this year, I don’t like the pressure. . .but January is a great time for me to get back into reading, especially on the weekends.
I suppose my mini-goal is to read, at the very least, all of the books I received for Christmas. This first book was a library book.
______________
In my stack:
Why Kerouac Matters: The Lessons of Life On The Road (They’re not what you think)

Marley and Me
Service Included: Four Star Secrets of an Eavesdropping Waiter
The Amateur Gourmet: How to Shop, Chop and Table-Hop Like a Pro (Almost) (I’ve been reading his blog for years
The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food

On my short list
• Reread The Dharma Bums
• Reread Into the Wild
A Man in Full (this has been sitting on my bookshelf since 2006’s challenge)
The Omnivore’s Dilemma as well as In Defense of Food
• Something by Peg Bracken, even if it includes a cookbook. In fact, with this one, I’d love to find a great used copy of one of her books. . .I have been used book shopping in AGES.

later days,
me

2 thoughts on “literate fool

  1. Rob really got a lot out of The Omnivore’s Dilemma, and I heard the author on NPR on Science Friday this week. In Defense of Food sounds really intriguing.

    And! He finished Into the Wild, and now it’s my next to read. Looking forward to it.

  2. The Chesterfield County libraries do the same thing – it’s really quite great. I reserve tons of books that way…and then wind up with a big stack I can’t possibly work my way through, so I wind up renewing over and over and over…and eventually taking some back unread.

    But at least it’s all free 🙂

Leave a Reply

