Do you know what time it is?

It’s Sunday, November 4th 2007. Do you know what time it is?
I know this whole daylight saving thing has a purpose, I just don’t quite know how purposeful it is for me.
I do know that it’s light out and the clock says 7:10 AM. That’s an improvement. I also know that at 5:30 this evening, the sun will go down. Boooooo.
This time of year is hard on those of us who like daylight and feel that when the sun goes down we should sleep. Perhaps I was some sort of animal in a previous life? A bear maybe? Hibernation sounds good this time of year.

––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Brian Williams was the host of last night’s SNL. I’ve had a longtime schoolgirl crush on him ever since he would occasionally anchor the news in Tom Brokaw’s absence. . .his slightly crooked face intrigues me. . .the anchorman voice is probably what does it, however. In any event, what I saw (before I fell asleep, because, come on. . .when’s the last time I stayed up through an entire SNL) of his attempts at comedy were rather entertaining. Most were jabs at his day job, but I appreciate someone who can laugh at himself or is at least somewhat comfortable with others doing so.

–––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Last night I attended an ice cream birthday party for picture_kept and finally got to meet her other half, stemware. Adults. Ice cream. LOTS of ice cream.
Whoever came up with this was a genius.
It was like being a kid in an ice cream parlor with a sampling spoon (after my first bowl of mint chocolate cookie w/whipped cream and hot fudge). It gave me an opportunity to try flavors I wouldn’t necessarily risk the cash on. . .and now I know they’re worth it. Ben and Jerry’s Banana Split is definitely worth a splurge.
I brought a pint of Americone Dream. It didn’t last long:). moosebraying and I first tried it about 3 weeks ago and I fell in love. Creamy vanilla ice cream with a caramel swirl and hunks of chocolate covered waffle cone. I guess I really dig the whole concept of an entire sundae in one bite of ice cream. I also tried Edy’s pumpkin ice cream which was surprisingly good, but not something I’d want a whole tub of.
Good times. New friends. Sugar rush and smiles all around. I look forward to hanging with them again in the future.

––––––––––––––––––––

Recipe for last night’s pork chops. With inspiration from epicurious
2 1-inch thick boneless pork chops
Salt
Pepper
1 Tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 small onion, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup unfiltered, unpasteurized cider
dash worchestershire
1 carrot, cut into 1/4″ slices

Preheat oven to 450
Heat large heavy skillet over medium high heat, melt butter until bubbling
Season chops w/salt & pepper
Cook in butter about 3 minutes on each side (or until golden)
remove chops from pan and place in shallow baking dish, top with carrots
Add onions and garlic to the skillet (which you’ve left on) and cook for one minute.
Add cider to pan and scrape to get up the brown bits.
Bring to a boil and let reduce a little.
Add worchestershire (I know I’m spelling this wrong)
Dump contents of skillet into baking dish and place in oven.
Cook for 10 minutes or until instant read thermometer reads 160

Serve with some of the juice over top (it makes more than you need).
This would go well with stuffing and some roasted veggies.

––––––––––––––––––––

We’re off to take Miller to the dog park. He just came into the green room and reminded me with a nudge of the wrist that it was time to go.
happy sunday,
me

Leave a Reply

