return of the palate

One of the things I hate most about being sick/having a cold is the sudden inability to taste food.
Food/cooking/eating is something I take great pleasure in, and when I’m down for the count, I simply don’t want to do any of those things. As a result, last week we ate rather poorly. My poor, starving husband was most likely confused by the fact that amazing dishes weren’t flying out of the kitchen with their usual regularity.
This week is the return of the menu. The planning. The tastiness and the joy that is, for me, cooking.

Last night we enjoyed a tasty and healthy recipe from this month’s Cooking Light. . .I ate some of the leftovers for lunch today accompanied by a spinach salad.
Tonight we’ll be dining on a little chicken in red curry ginger sauce, which should definitely kick my tastebuds in the butt, reminding them that flavor does exist.
It just feels good to be in the kitchen again. And now that the heat of the summer that won’t die is finally going away, I look forward to making a batch of butternut squash dip with some toasted pita chips or perhaps just roasting that acorn squash I bought a few weeks back and eating it straight from the shell dusted with a little cumin, salt and pepper. I’ve been craving fall flavors, but the weather hasn’t been condusive to heating up the kitchen like that.

I’m slowly coming back up to speed, going back to the gym for the first time in over a week and just generally clearing the cobwebs from my brain and getting back to routine. The work on the house should be wrapped up by the time I get home today (fingers crossed). . .and in a few weeks we’ll be able to put the front yard/patio back together just in time for halloween (which reminds me, I need to get some pumpkins and gourds and such this weekend). Fall has always been a great time of year for me. . .it’s time to really start enjoying it.

later days,
me

6 thoughts on “return of the palate

  1. I made it for my first thanksgiving with my in-laws (a huge 30+ person thanksgiving) and it was a hit. Although not as much of a hit as my devilled eggs (damn living in Georgia too long traditions ;).). I’m not permitted to come to Turkey day in Raleigh w/o my eggs at this point.

Leave a Reply

