the art of pause.

When I was a little girl, I took ballet and tap lessons. After a few years, I asked my mother if I could drop the ballet class and just do tap. . .when she asked me why, my answer was that ballet was just too slow. In the immortal words of Ricky Bobby “I wanna go fast”.

Three weeks ago I started attending a yoga class at the gym here in my office building. I was enrolled in the beginner class, as I had never before done yoga. . .in fact, the idea of me doing something that has me focusing on my inner stillness is rather humorous when I stop to think about it. I don’t often slow down. . .even my slow walking pace is rather fast. I suppose that’s a product of my environment. Don’t get me wrong, I can relax. . .I just relax at a faster pace than most people:).
Anyhow, last week after yoga I found out that our beginners class of three students was being cancelled. . .we would have the option to get a refund or move into the intermediate class. The instructor seemed to think that all of us would do just fine there. Today was the first intermediate class and our usual instructor wasn’t there. In her place was this spunky, chipper woman who does yoga at a slightly faster pace than I’d been doing it. . .but whom was incredibly helpful. She corrected my downward dog, and now I’m getting it and the transition between it and other poses much more easily. There are a few things that I’m unable to do. ..things involving flexibility and moving your leg behind your head. It makes my knees hurt a little and i’m really conscious of my knees due to past injuries. I guess that’s part of yoga though, listening to your body.
I have to say, I’m really enjoying it. I learned a few things today that I think I could practice at home and a few things that would be great to do right after running. . .I never thought I’d enjoy slowing down so much. . .that’s progress. . .learning to breathe and focus on the breath. . .centering. I come back to my office after each class feeling refreshed, refocused, and ready to tackle the afternoon. Funny what happens when you learn how to take pause.

later days,
me

One thought on “the art of pause.

Leave a Reply

