good boy…

We took miller to the vet last night for a checkup and to get his rabies vaccine up to date. . .he was very well behaved aside from freaking out a little when we wouldn’t just let him run around the waiting room. The vet we chose is wonderful and I really like the fact that they have odd hours. . .we had an appointment at 8:40 pm. They like to accomodate the fact that not everyone can get in during the day.

We need to work on the fact that he likes to greet people by jumping up on them. . .when I took him for a walk yesterday afternoon, he nearly knocked over a little boy who wanted to pet him. . .manners. . .training. . .

Last night we let him have free reign of the house. . .he had fallen asleep on the couch and didn’t really have the desire to come upstairs with us, so we went to bed. . .when we woke up in the morning, he was right there at the foot of the bed, sleeping. So quickly he adapts.

This morning I put him back in the crate for what will be his usual duration. . .and again I’m more or less a wreck about it. He goes in without any trouble and doesn’t cry or anything when I close the door. In fact, yesterday afternoon he went in of his own accord when I was in the back room flipping through some cookbooks. So it’s not that he doesn’t like the crate. . .it’s that I don’t like how I feel when I put him in the crate. I know it’s for his own safety and I just need to relax.

back to work,
me

One thought on “good boy…

  1. If he goes in the crate on his own, he likes it. Don’t worry about it 🙂

    As for the jumping up on people, you can try grabbing him by the paws when he does that and pressing down on them with a little pressure as you put them back on the floor. That’s supposed to teach them not to jump up like that…

Leave a Reply

